Papallary Part 2

As a watchman I bought myself an internet phone, I, therefore, developed a fancy for the internet and technology.

I partly worked as a ‘Pendo’ service marketer (a safaricom sponsored love text subscription) and could earn some fair amount of commission which I received via mpesa(This is a mobile phone money transfer). This service didn’t go for long as safaricom put a hold to it. It was unfortunate, but I could do nothing about it.

In 2008, May, I accepted a position as a teacher at Plainsview academy Mwea, I had prepared to teach Maths but the school had enough Maths teachers fortunately; they needed a class eight C.R.E. teacher. Without much thought, I offered to take up the offer despite not having the aptitude. Moreover, I did not take C.R.E back in high School. This really worried the director but lucky enough, he gave me the chance to prove myself.

Days later, a colleague offered to give me his Maths lesson in class four

TEACHING C.R.E

Innocent bright faces, eager warm smiles and sharp eyes welcomed me upon opening the class eight door. At that very instant, I fell in love with the class. After a few days of orientation, a cordial and mutual rapport was created. The bond made it even easier to begin with my teaching. I studied the bible late at night, this being the major C.R.E text. This not only built my spiritual life, but it improved the bond between me and my students; I woke up as early as 4 AM prepared for an hour got the school compound around 4 30 AM, where I woke the students waited for them to prepare and by 5 20 AM we would all be in class enjoying a cup of C.R.E.

I enjoyed my time as a teacher. I had found peace, and I felt I was doing something worthwhile in my life. I would spend my weekends in school; I was not just a teacher but also a friend, to some parents whom I had bonded with during visiting days. I have something to confess, being a teacher gave me an inner comfort, but it was the only time I earned the least. I was making KShs 3OOO per month i.e. US$ 36.

LETTER TO CAMPUS

I was preparing my students for the big exam KCPE, when I received a letter to campus. My letter delayed. I, therefore, was to join the high institution of learning in two weeks. I was in a dilemma, to leave my students at such a time. I reported to Kenyatta University and was fortunate to be informed that I could actually call off a semester and start my studies the following year.

I was happy not to be separated with my kids whom I had natured and reared both spiritually and educationally. We revised all KCPE papers for the previous years. Apart from just teaching the students, I was also gaining knowledge. We would have sessions where my students would share ideas, plus I encouraged an interactive class.

During recreation, a bunch of other teachers and I would join the student’s football teams. Life was fun; life was sweet.

On November 24th, my students sat for C.R.E. It is usually the last paper in KCPE. It was the big day. I was happy when my kids came out of the class smiling and others actually hugged me, saying they would make it, but deep inside, I had that feeling that a mother feels when her daughter is getting married, the feeling that she is not yours anymore.

2009 KENYATTA UNIVERSITY

This is a whole different story altogether.
I was so happy to report to campus, beautiful surroundings, which marked an incredible art work and so many pretty ladies. I felt at home and just wanted to be here; I felt I was in the right place. Days went by and just when we were about so sit for our end of semester exams, the worst happened. Kenyatta university students went on strike. I went back home. Little did I know I had become a celebrity in Kirinyaga District.

Apparently, the KCPE results were out and my class had scooped position 1 in the whole of Kirinyaga District. I was overjoyed on that auspicious day, when I received the first trophy in my life, the news spread like bush fire and almost all private schools were calling me promising a better pay. Since we were on strike, I decided to go back to teach but I chose to join a different school. The wise Shepherd Academy, the very place I schooled.

I guess I was effective as I helped improve the discipline and also C.R.E
…………..To be continued
******

Part 3 will be the end it will have a lot to do with Kenyatta University and my life as a Mocality agent come super agent.

One comment on “Papallary Part 2

Leave a comment